Founded in 1571 by Gat Tayaw, this small, peaceful and picturesque town of Liliw is nestled at the foot of Mt. Banahaw, 17 kilometers away from Sta. Cruz, Laguna's capital.
According to a story, Liliw got its name from a bird. It was said that Gat Tayaw and his followers decided to erect a bamboo pole and to name the town after the bird that would alight first at the top of the pole within four days. A crow, however, was the first bird to alight the pole. A crow was considered a bad omen and so Gat Tayaw and his men moved south and erected another bamboo pole. With constant vigil, a beautiful bird alighted on the pole and sang, "Liw, Liw, Liw". Thus, the town was named Liliw.
Throughout the Spanish regime, the name Liliw was used. When the Americans came, it became Lilio because they found it easier to pronounce than Liliw. However, on June 11, 1965, the town's municipal council passed resolution no. 38-S-65 which declared Liliw as the official name and spelling of the town. This was not only to avoid confusion in pronouncing and spelling the name of the town but it was also an expression of nationalism.
Liliw is 110 km from Manila via Sta. Cruz and 105 km via San Pablo City to the south. Situated at the foot of Mount Banahaw, the town is bounded by Magdalena and Pagsanjan in the north, by Majayjay in the east, by Nagcarlan and Rizal in the south and Pila in the west.
Please mail in any comments or errors encountered.
Copyright © 1998 Laguna Internet